ENV : prod
CLUSTER : east
SERVER : va3.pricenetwork.com
image
Cloud Atlas: A Novel
by: David Mitchell
0375507256 / 9780375507250

Book Description:
By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker PrizeA postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.Praise for Cloud Atlas   “[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.”—The New York Times Book Review   “One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature.”—Dave Eggers   “Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.”—People   “The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.”—Michael Chabon   “Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.”—The Washington Post Book World   “Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step.”—Boston Sunday Globe   “Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate.”—Los Angeles TimesFrom the Hardcover edition.

Cloud Atlas: A Novel

Buyback (Sell directly to one of these merchants and get cash immediately)

Bookstore Payment Good Condition New Condition  
$3.00 $3.00 Sell Here
Payment:
Shipping Details: Textbooks.com Buyback pays some of the best prices, pays for shipping, and offers your choice of payment by check or PayPal. If you bought the book from Textbooks.com, they'll even pay you extra.
$1.42 $1.42 Sell Here
Payment:
Shipping Details: Sell Back Your Book is owned by parent company Ez Book Recycle Inc. Ez Book Recycle Inc. is no stranger to buying items online. With the first buyback website launching in February 2008, Ez Book Recycle has purchased items from more than 100,000 individuals from every state in the U.S. Free shipping with printable label.
$0.75 $0.75 Sell Here
Payment:
Shipping Details: BookByte pays cash, not credit, and takes pride in speedy payment, often within one day of processing your textbook. They pay the shipping.
$0.52 $0.52 Sell Here
Payment:
Shipping Details: FirstClassBooks.com is an online college textbook reseller founded in 2001. They buy and sell textbooks for prices significantly better than on-campus college bookstores. Please refer to the seller's comments before ordering.

campusbooks.com  BBB Business Review CopyScape